Sample menu:

Sprachen:

Englisch

Deutsch

Motivation

Due to the establishment of cost-effective, high-throughput technologies for the automated measurement of high-dimensional molecular data, bioinformatics has developed rapidly as a new scientific discipline within the last two decades. Inside the bioinformatics discipline, numerous tools for data analysis, data visualization, and data integration for diverse biomedical information have been developed.

Using statistical modeling of gene expression data, methylation data, and next-generation high-throughput sequencing data, one is able to connect molecular data to, for example, clinical markers. This information can be used to assist in decisions for individual therapies for patients.

Additionally, numerous algorithms in bioinformatics enable us to investigate the underlying connections of differentially-expressed genes with the help of analyses of signal pathways and networks. Thus, we are able to characterize the genes at a higher abstraction/functional/informational level, e.g. within enriched pathways or gene ontologies.

Single biological levels (transcriptome, proteome, etc.) usually do not act independently of each other, but act in a systemic way forming a complex system. Therefore, one needs bioinformatic tools to allow the biological levels to be connected. While statistical approaches do exist to perform such data integration, most often these approaches have to be adapted to every single application, or completely new tools may even need to be developed. This is often the only way that one is able to find new interacting gene clusters.

Sample menu:

Languages:

English

German

Motivation

Angesichts der Etablierung von immer kostengünstigeren Hochdurchsatz-Technologien für die automatisierte Messung hochdimensionaler molekularer Daten hat sich die Bioinformatik als notwendige wissenschaftliche Disziplin in den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten rasant entwickelt. Sie hat zahlreiche Ansätze und Algorithmen für die Datenanalyse, Datenvisualisierung und Datenintegration der mannigfaltigen biomedizinischen Informationen hervorgebracht.

Mithilfe der statistischen Modellierung von Genexpressions- oder Methylierungsmessungen als auch von "next-generation" Hochdurchsatzsequenzierungs-geräten können molekulare Messungen z.B. mit klinischen Merkmalen verknüpft werden, um verbesserte Prognosen zu erhalten und potentiell individualisiert Therapie-entscheidungen zu unterstützen.

Komplementär dazu ermöglichen zahlreiche bioinformatische Algorithmen, biologische Zusammenhänge der erhaltenen differentiell regulierten Gene mithilfe von Signalwegs- und Netzwerkanalysen zu untersuchen. Die Gene können so durch ein höheres Abstraktions-/ Funktions-/ Informationsniveau besser charakterisiert werden, beispielsweise im Kontext von angereicherten Signalwegen oder Gen-Ontologien.

Einzelne biologische Ebenen (Transkriptom, Proteom, etc.) agieren meist nicht unabhängig voneinander, sondern interagieren in einem komplexen System. Deshalb bedarf es dringend bioinformatischer Ansätze, um diese Vernetzungen der Ebenen zu ermöglichen. Während schon erste statistische Techniken für diese Datenintegration existieren, müssen diese meist noch auf die spezifische Anwendung angepasst werden, oder eine komplette Neuentwicklung ist nötig. Nur so wird es oft erst möglich, bisher unbekannte genetisch interagierende Cluster zu finden.